TGM Vol.5 Chapter 9 – Wu Zhi Qi (5)

Xuanji turned away from her face, not looking at her expression. After a while, she said, “Actually, I don’t remember many of the things he said. So I don’t know what kind of grudges are involved. I just……if I don’t kill him, I can’t go back. On the other hand, Wu Zhi Qi, you used to be a big demon, you must have done a lot of bad things, right? Don’t you want to be punished for your evil deeds?”

Zihu said urgently, “He hasn’t done anything bad! You don’t know anything!”

Xuanji said, “Those who do evil things always have many ways to justify themselves, but no matter how they justify themselves, there is only one truth. If he did no harm to others, why would he be imprisoned?”

Zihu, pale and startled, said, “Yes, there is only one truth, but there is no absolute right or wrong. You can’t listen to the words of the Heavenly Realm and come here to fight for justice.”

This sounds familiar. Someone once said to her that there is no absolute black and white, and who can easily make an assertion. Everyone has his or her own black and white, so the truth is different in everyone’s eyes. Xuanji has always insisted on her own ideas and never agreed with other people’s right or wrong. The First Brother said at that time that it was not good to do so, that it was easy to get into a dead end. But she was so impetuous that she gave him an indifferent advice: “Don’t force others to impose their ideas on me.”

However, now that she is a little older and has seen more people and more things, she gradually understands how horrible it is to be stubbornly opinionated. She has paid a great price for this, making Sifeng leave in disgrace, and now when she wants to make it right, he is no longer with her.

Xuanji took a breath, hung her head and softly said, “I can’t remember anything…”

Before he finished, Wu Zhi Qi suddenly interjected, “You don’t remember anything, so what you just said was a lie?”

Xuanji was stunned and suddenly understood that he was talking about being friends, so she said, “Not a lie…who wouldn’t want to be friends with someone like you?”

Wu Zhi Qi laughed , jumped up from the bed and walked towards her. Zihu hurriedly grabbed his clothes and whispered, “Wu Zhi Qi, don’t …” He patted her on the head and his voice became very gentle, “All right, little fox. Sit down and I’ll find some tasty grapes to feed you.”

Zihu’s eyes were red, he remembered that she liked grapes. When they first met, because of her gluttony she climbed onto the shelf and ate the grapes, but he ended up grabbing the grapes. She was caught unwillingly and tried hundreds of ways to escape, but she couldn’t excape his palm. Finally, he let her go, but she herself was reluctant to leave.

All along, he had been the one who walked far in front of her, and when he looked back once in a while, he was also radiant, and she was not in his eyes. The only thing she could blame him for was her reluctance to go. As long as he is still alive and can still see him, that’s the happiest thing in the world.

Wu Zhi Qi walked up to Xuanji, stroked his untidy braids and smiled, “Let’s go, since we are friends, I can’t give you a hard time. If you don’t kill me, you can’t go back, right? Let’s do it now. Let’s have another fight. It’s up to God whether we live or die.”

He was so chic, and the dazed person has become Xuanji. It was only after a long time that she mumbled, “I have a question too, please answer me.”

“Fine, you ask.” Wu Zhi Qi shrugged his shoulders, looking relaxed.
Xuanji squarely said, “Why do you want to rebel and make trouble?”

Wu Zhi Qi stroked his chin, thought for a moment, and smiled, “Rebellion……it’s not a rebellion at all, it’s just that they bully people too much, and when they see a demon they can’t suppress, they want to get rid of it. Speaking of which…”

He looked at Xuanji with shining eyes and childishly asked, “Don’t you think those immortals up there are quite annoying sometimes?”

This answer is indeed a standard Wu Zhi Qi type. Xuanji stayed silent for a long time, suddenly she laughed, Wu Zhi Qi also laughed. They laughed face to face for a long time, making both Zihu and Tengshe bewildered. Finally Xuanji nodded and said, “Yes, sometimes… it’s really annoying.”

Wu Zhi Qi squeezed his arm lazily and said, “Then…….we’ve finished asking questions, let’s go, let’s begin.”

Xuanji suddenly shook her head and said, “No more fighting, I don’t want to kill you. I won’t kill my friend.”

Wu Zhi Qi wasn’t surprised by her answer at all. He only said with slanted eyes, “You can’t go back if you don’t kill me? You can only be locked up here like me.”

“Even if I can’t go back, I won’t kill you, and even if they don’t send me back, I will definitely find a way to get out.”

Wu Zhi Qi strained his cheeks, stretched his waist and smiled, “Good, it’s a pity that I can’t send you out.”

Xuanji asked, “These eight iron chains on your body are the Dinghai Iron Chains?”

“Huh? You know? Right, right, I haven’t asked you yet. How did you come to be reincarnated? General God of War was so powerful that he made countless contributions back then! Does the Emperor of Heaven look down on you too?”

Xuanji shook her head honestly: “I don’t know. There are some things that I can recall, and some things that I can’t recall.”

“There are so many things that you don’t know…” mumbled Wu Zhi Qi, thinking, “Probably your memory has been taken away by someone. Those immortals in Heaven should know? Why don’t you ask…oh, here, what’s the snake’s name? Ask him.”

He pointed at Téngshé, and for the first time since Téngshé walked through the door, he really noticed him, yet he still refused to speak to him. Téngshé was so furious that he didn’t even argue with him, he just said, “I don’t know much. I vaguely know that she committed a crime back then, and only a few old men above know exactly what the crime was.”

Wu Zhi Qi’s eyes lit up, “Oh, oh! What did you call them? Old men? You’re funny.”

The snake looked at him coldly and said, “On the contrary, I am bored by the famous Wu Zhi Qi.”

Wu Zhi Qi was not annoyed at all, he just laughed and said, “It’s just a fight! What’s there to complain about! It’s Téngshé, right? I remember you. I’ll play with you for 10 days and 10 nights! Just don’t complain!”

Téngshé was simple, his eyes lit up and he said, “Now fight!”

Wu Zhi Qi waved the eight heavy iron chains around his body, seemingly smiling, “You’re really good at fighting with me, a man who is tied up.

Téngshé didn’ care. He squatted beside him, grabbed an iron chain, and said, “I’ll burn it for you right away.” He was about to set fire to it immediately, but Xuanji hurriedly held him back and shook her head, saying, “No! If you let him go, how can we explain to the Judge?”

“Tell me nothing!” Téngshé didn’t care, with a click, he immediately burned one of the world-famous Iron Chains of Dinghai.

Wu Zhi Qi waved his hand to block his action and smiled, “No, no, no, I’m still waiting for someone and I don’t want to go out right now. I’ve made a note of the fight and I’ll never break my promise. When I get out of here, I will definitely come to you, Téngshé.”

Téngshé nodded, “That’s good, a gentleman’s word…”.

“Is a fast horse!”

The two men high-fived and laughed at each other.

It seems that no matter whether it is a monkey or a sacred beast, as long as it is a male, friendship always comes very quickly.

Xuanji said, “Are you waiting for someone from the Palace of Lize? They’ve destroyed several of the chains, and even found the keys to the chains. It is estimated that they will be able to rescue you soon, you…”

She was about to say something and stopped, but Wu Zhi Qi immediately understood her meaning and rubbed his fingers together, “I know! I won’t touch any of those bastards in the underworld!”

Xuanji smiled, “Then we’re leaving, take care of yourself alone. I’m waiting to meet you again in the mortal world. I’ll treat you to a drink.”

Wu Zhi Qi chuckled, “You are a little girl, what good wine can you have? Sure, sure.” After saying that, he frowned again, “But not until I find those demons from the palace and settle my old debts!

Xuanji wanted to ask him about his grudge against the Li’Ze Palace, but judging from his look, he seemed reluctant to talk, so she nodded, turned around and left. As she reached the door, she suddenly realized that Zihu had not followed her, so she whispered, “Zihu… are you staying?”

Zihu said softly, “Yes, Xuanji, Lord Téngshé, thank you. I……..”

“Little Fox is staying. I’ve been locked up for a thousand years and you’ve come so late and you want to leave? It’s not that easy!” The Wu Zhi Qi laughingly hooked her shoulders and gave her a few shakes, “Do not say you want to go! You must stay with me!”

Zihu smiled, nodded slowly and said sweetly, “Yes, I’ll stay here to keep Wu Zhi Qi company. Xuanji, Lord Téngshé, we will definitely meet again in the future.”

Her expression was so happy, just like her heart was contented. Is it because of the presence of Wu Zhi Qi? Because with him, even if she sleeps on rotten straw, has nothing to eat and can only drink dew, she is happier than anything else.

When Xuanji returned to the city, she kept thinking about this question.

If it were Yu Sifeng, would she be able to throw everything away like Zi’hu and feel happy just being with him? She can’t imagine that he is not around. He had only been gone for a day or two, but why did she feel that they had been apart for a lifetime? What a long life, what a depressing life…….

When she met the Judge, the look on his face clearly told Xuanji that he knew everything. She didn’t kill Wu Zhi Qi and even allowed the snake to burn a cable.

Xuanji didn’t say a word and she didn’t know what to say. Only after a long time did the Judge let out a long sigh and said in a low voice, “Xuanji……there are some things that can never be undone if you make one wrong move.”

“I am not wrong.” She also replied in a low voice.

“Perhaps you will never be able to go back to the Heavenly Court, and you will even keep on reincarnating to become a real sinner in the Heavenly Realm. You have no regrets? And you say you’re right?”

Xuanji shook his head and said, “Master Judge, I’ll decide my affairs for myself! If I’ve made up my mind, I won’t regret it!”

The Judge gazed at her for a long time, and finally sighed and said, “No matter, I’ll send you back.”

<<PreviousChapter ListNext>>

Translator’s Note: First of all, to everyone who’s been waiting for chapter updates, thank you for your patience.

Secondly, there is bad news and good news.

Bad News – due to recent events, I have had to take on more responsibilities and there is far less time for translation. (My usual time frame for translating a chapter was 1 or 2 days, with the rough translation being the easiest part, most of the time is taken up with figuring out the references and rewriting parts so that it doesn’t seem choppy, editing, etc) Due to lack of free time, I can’t keep up the daily update schedule.

Good News – I’ve spent the last month slowly translating both Volume 5 and Volume 6, right now its still rough, with various spelling and translation mistakes, the grammar is backwards, and most of the idioms sound like gibberish as I haven’t found the correct context for them, etc. But! Since the entire thing has been (mostly) translated this means I just have to do the editing and rewriting parts. Which means, I can work on multiple chapters at the same time! 😀

So, starting from September, instead of a single daily chapter there will be multiple chapters posted on the weekend. Depending on how fast I worked that week, you should expect between 3 – 5 chapters.

TL;DR – Daily Chapter Updates will no longer be possible due to lack of time available to the translator, however, Multiple Chapters (between 3 – 5) will be posted each week on Saturday. Starting from Saturday, September 4th.

4 thoughts on “TGM Vol.5 Chapter 9 – Wu Zhi Qi (5)

  1. bless you for being willing to continue this story for your fans…even with all you’ve gone through. 💗 We who love this story are more than willing to wait patiently. 💗 Thank you. 🥰

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for your translation and I am sorry to hear about your recent news. Take as much time as you like, there is no rush. I have not had time to read because I am studying for a big exam but once it’s over, I can’t wait to get back to reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started